1. Welcome to CinVin!
    CinVin is a friendly general discussion community. From TV shows to graphics to technology to games and everything in between, this is the place to talk about it!

How did they find it?

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by Kevin, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. Kevin Code Monkey

    Message Count:
    537
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well, this was unexpected.

    I had a copy of vB4 on one my domains buried several folders deep. The URL link has never been posted anywhere (and nobody even knew it was there except for me). There are no Google ads or any other external data provider being used.

    Today I get a notice that a new user registered on the site! :eek:

    So how the heck did the find it?
  2. gemma Moderator

    Message Count:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are they real or a bot?

    *goes off to hire a domain detective to find url*
  3. Kevin Code Monkey

    Message Count:
    537
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ooooh.... I didn't think about checking that, good thought. I just checked StopFormSpam.com and the IP comes up as a reported bot.

    Here's the registration info they used...
    Code:
    There is a new user, MargaretAnderson at vBulletin
    
    To view their profile, go here:
    http://{not as well hidden as I thought}/member.php?u=7858
    
    Email Address : margaretandersonsn@gmail.com
    Birthday : November 8, 1988
    Referrer: N/A
    IP Address: 91.212.226.143
    I'm still scratching my head about how they found it. For now I moved the folder above /public_html since it was soon to be on the chopping block anyway (was just being used to experiment some vB stuff).
  4. gemma Moderator

    Message Count:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No idea, I used to have a domain (arcadejunkies.co.uk) which was only used about 2 or 3 times as a test site, it only had one forum and no posts and one day I came out from beneath the admin bonnet, refreshed the forum page and I had two spam bots registered - no idea how spambots find sites.

    Just now I have referrals from two site fashionjewelryshoponline.com and fashionjewelrystoreonline.com, for some reason who/whatever is visiting my site from those domains about 30 times a day - yet I see no reference or links to my site on either and no links from them on my site - I know I get easily confused at times but I don't understand any of this lol

Share This Page

Pin It

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. how did they fid it

    ,
  2. margaretandersonsn@gmail.com

    ,
  3. http://fashionjewelrystoreonline.com spam